Apr 29, 2015

When Reason Breaks.

Posted by Jenia. at 4/29/2015 05:01:00 PM
☆☆☆☆
when reason breaks.
cindy L. Rodriguez.


Publisher Bloomsbury.
Publication Date:February10,2015
Genre:YA Contemporary Psychology.
Format|Pages:Hardcover|304
 Source: Library | Goodreads.





 








13 Reasons Why meets the poetry of Emily Dickinson in this gripping debut novel perfect for fans of Sara Zarr or Jennifer Brown.



A Goth girl with an attitude problem, Elizabeth Davis must learn to control her anger before it destroys her. Emily Delgado appears to be a smart, sweet girl, with a normal life, but as depression clutches at her, she struggles to feel normal. Both girls are in Ms. Diaz’s English class, where they connect to the words of Emily Dickinson. Both are hovering on the edge of an emotional precipice. One of them will attempt suicide. And with Dickinson’s poetry as their guide, both girls must conquer their personal demons to ever be happy.



In an emotionally taut novel with a richly diverse cast of characters, readers will relish in the poetry of Emily Dickinson and be completely swept up in the turmoil of two girls grappling with demons beyond their control. 



 ϟ




What a heartbreaking novel. Yet you can’t help but get sucked into story from the first page. When the book starts with one of students slipping a suicide note to the teacher, the first thought that goes through you, who was it? I know that I was, and not only who it was but why? I found myself wondering what happened in their life that was so horrible. Not only that but I found myself wondering if Ms.Diaz will reach her in time. It’s question you will find yourself wondering through most of the book. Once you meet the main characters: Elizabeth & Emily, you know that it’s one of them and I couldn’t help but wonder which one of them it would be. Both Emily & Elizabeth have their own set of issues but which one of them will reach their breaking point? As book progressed, I started to put the pieces together, in the end it was not person that I expected to be. I was convinced that it was other one, like Ms. Diaz. That’s what I loved about the book, the suspense of it.



Emily & Elizabeth: If someone asked me to pick a favorite one, I don’t think that I would be able to. Both of the girls are unique in their own little way. I believe that’s what I liked about the girls, the two of them were so different, yet they seemed to be able to connect in some way. It was different, a love/ hate sort of friendship. However by end of the book when the tragedy that nobody expect it struck, that’s when I knew that Elizabeth cared about Emily, that the friendship that two of them had, meant something to her. Once I reached the end of the book, I found myself wondering what would happen to the girls next, will the two form an actual friendship this time? What would happen to Kevin and Emily? I found myself curious about the characters after the novel came to end. They are type of characters that you get attached to fast.



What I loved about this book most? Fact how real it was. Pretty much everything that I read in the book, could happen in real life. Suicide. Depression is a subject I am familiar one and it’s tough to write about. When Reason Breaks are unlike other books that I read, that dealt with this particular subject. I like the letters and fact that there were letters to a teacher. Feelings are hard to express when you feel like you don’t belong. Expressing those to someone you don’t know well, takes a lot of trust. But in a way I am glad she wrote those letters, because of that, her life was saved. There were few slow parts in the book, that got to the point that I wanted to skip over. Otherwise it was a book that I am glad I gave chance to. A book that had me thinking about story, characters afterwards. 

I’m eager to see what next story Rodriquez creates.


0 comments:

Post a Comment

 

Story For Dessert Copyright © 2010 Designed by Ipietoon Blogger Template Sponsored by Online Shop Vector by Artshare