Dec 2, 2014

Love & Other Foreign Words.

Posted by Jenia. at 12/02/2014 06:23:00 PM
☆☆☆☆
love & other foreign words.

erin mccahan.


 Publisher :Dial Books
Publication Date:May 1,2014
Genre:YA Contemporary Romance| Humor
Format|Pages:Hardcover|336
 Source: Library| Goodreads










Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, Love and Other Foreign Words is equal parts comedy and coming of age--a whip-smart, big-hearted, laugh-out-loud love story about sisters, friends, and what it means to love at all.



Can anyone be truly herself--or truly in love--in a language that's not her own?



Sixteen-year-old Josie lives her life in translation. She speaks High School, College, Friends, Boyfriends, Break-ups, and even the language of Beautiful Girls. But none of these is her native tongue -- the only people who speak that are her best friend Stu and her sister Kate. So when Kate gets engaged to an epically insufferable guy, how can Josie see it as anything but the mistake of a lifetime? Kate is determined to bend Josie to her will for the wedding; Josie is determined to break Kate and her fiancé up. As battles are waged over secrets and semantics, Josie is forced to examine her feelings for the boyfriend who says he loves her, the sister she loves but doesn't always like, and the best friend who hasn't said a word -- at least not in a language Josie understands.






ϟ



I loved every minute of this novel; it was like nothing that I read before, nothing that I was expecting it to be. It was so much better. Have you ever picked up a book and from that moment you felt yourself glued to the book? Love & Other Foreign Words was that book for me and it’s a reason that I finished it in a day. I was hooked with characters, the story and it felt like I was going on the journey along with Josie. Title was what captured my attention when I was at library, looking for a book to read when I came across it. I was curious about the story from the title that I saw, even before I read the summary. It wasn’t just about love but about family, relationships and challenges. Each chapter had me eager for more of Josie’s story; I believe that it would make any reader eager to see what would happen next, how all of this will come to the end. Who would Josie end up with? I know that I was. The humor aspect of the story made it even more interesting to read. Love & Other Foreign Words was very easy to read and hard not to love.



I loved the relationship that Kate & Josie had, at least the one they did before it seemed go downhill after she got engaged. Afterwards it felt like the two of them were at constant war with each other, mostly when came to Geoff. I couldn’t blame Kate for being annoyed with Josie at times; she did come to act out when it came to me. I felt like Josie didn’t even give Geoff a fair chance, she just made up her mind that she didn’t like him and that what she stick to it. I did wonder if part had to do with fact, that now she knew that she wouldn’t have Kate all to herself, which her attention would focus on someone else. There were parts were Kate act like I felt she wasn’t being fair to Josie, she wanted change so much in Josie, just so it look good in her wedding, didn’t she realize she did hurt her feeling by critizing though? Even if she denied it. What she did with her journal page? Now that was out of control. If someone did that to me, honestly I don’t think I would be able to forgive them. Despite their downs, I could tell that two of them had a special sister bond and I hope they would see, and make it soon. I smiled when they did.




Each of relationships that Josie found herself in, were unique in their own way. For bit I did feel like she would end up with Ethan at some point. I got a feeling that two of them did have connection, even if two of them had a big age difference. When the two of them met, talked, it gave me a feeling that there was some sort of connection between two of them. Apparently I was wrong about that. Now Stu, even I did not see that coming, it took me as much by surprise as it did Josie. However it did make more sense why his relationships didn’t last, because he didn’t really care about them, it was Josie he cared about. I was smiling when Josie finally came to her senses, making me wonder what’s in store for them next.



You can’t help but love the book. Loved the voice, the characters, and the story. Love & Other Foreign Words isn’t just a love story, it’s also story about family relationships, acceptance, changes. The story that you will find yourself thinking about. It’s how relationships are. Every aspect of story was real. A book worth your time.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 

Story For Dessert Copyright © 2010 Designed by Ipietoon Blogger Template Sponsored by Online Shop Vector by Artshare